New Jersey Requirement Details for Real Estate Continuing Education
License Renewal Date: 6/30 every odd-numbered year
Hours Required By The State: 12 hours
2 hours - ETHICS
4 hours - CORE
6 hours - ELECTIVES: A mix, or all of the same, of any of the following three CE types: ELECTIVES or ETHICS or CORE
The CE Shop's Offering: 12 hours
Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the New Jersey Real Estate Commission through PSI. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven to ten days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported and posted within this time frame.
Final Exams: Passing a final exam is not required to receive Continuing Education credit in New Jersey, therefore our system is set up so that final exams can be passed with a 0% passing score.
Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.
Additional Licensing Information:
Continuing Education Renewal: All Continuing Education courses must be completed by April 30th of your renewal year. Failure to complete all courses by April 30th will result in a fine by the NJ REC.
Legal Issues (i.e. listing agreements, contracts, leases, attorney review)
Ethics (2 Ethics credits mandatory)
Fair Housing and New Jersey Law Against Discrimination
New Jersey Real Estate Broker and Salesperson Statues and Regulations
State and Federal Environmental Laws/Regulations Pertaining to Real Estate
Legal Requirements regarding Escrow Monies and Financial Record keeping
The following are approved as topics for elective courses. See N.J.A.C. 11:5-12.13(a)1-9.
Commercial Real Estate
Real Estate Sales Full Disclosure Act and Real Estate Timeshare Act
Real Estate Valuation
Foreclosure and Short-Sale Transactions
Specific Aspects of Residential Real Estate Transactions
New York Requirement Details for Real Estate Continuing Education – Broker and Sales License
Continuing Education and License Renewal Date:
Every two years by the exact day of your license anniversary date
Hours Required By The State:
22.5 hours every two years
1 agency hour
3 fair housing hours
18.5 elective hours
Note: Effective January 1, 2017, any real estate licensee who renews their license must have completed 22 ½ hours of approved continuing education, three hours of which must include fair housing and/or discrimination in the sale or rental of real property or an interest in real property along with the updated requirement of at least 1 hour of law of agency. This change does not apply to those licensees who are exempt from the continuing education requirement.
The New York Department of Real Estate requires that all students spend a minimum amount of seat time engaged in the course content. The online course delivery system manages this requirement for you.
The CE Shop is an approved school in New York.
The CE Shop's Offering:
Real estate course completions are reported to the New York Department of State on the 1st and 15th of each month. New York is an audit state and does not require hours to be posted to your license before you renew.
Expiration Date of Course:
Per New York Department of State requirements, courses must be completed within 12 months of enrollment. Each course has an individual expiration date which is listed in your account.
Final exams must be passed with at least a 75% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass.
The CE Shop will provide you with an electronic Certificate of Completion upon completion of the course. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date on your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.